Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Monday, 24 April 2017

Half Shell Heroes Mutant Loader Vehicle With Mikey Review

I have always said that little J absolutely loves playing with anything that has wheels, cars, bikes, trucks you name it he will play with it. Since starting nursery he has become interested in super heroes and action figures too so when we were given the chance to review the Half Shell Heroes Mutant Loader Vehicle I knew he would love it as it is two of his favourite things combined. 

Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Jamie Raven Sleight Of Hand Magic Set Review

You may have read that recently we went to see Jamie Raven live on stage in Southport. For those that don't know who he is, Jamie came runner up in the 2015 Britain's Got Talent final. He narrowly lost out to Jules and Matisse by just 2 per cent of the vote. We remembered his performances and loved watching him so we were quite excited to see his live show. He mentioned that he would be releasing a range of magic trick sets soon and both Daddy and I got excited as we both love magic. We have had so many magic sets over the years and they are so much fun. For the past few weeks we have been trying out Jamie Raven Sleight Of Hand Magic Set which is one of the four sets that has been released recently. 

Thursday, 16 March 2017

Giant Gazillion Giant Power Wand Review

Now that the weather has started to improve and the days are getting longer we have been sorting out the summer toys ready for the late nights and longer weekends.  This weekend we wanted to try out the Giant Gazillion Giant Power Wand as Little J loves bubbles and especially big bubbles that he can chase around the garden. 

Friday, 10 March 2017

Stickle Bricks Big Red Bucket Review

A few weeks ago we were asked if we would like to review Stickle Bricks - Big Red Bucket. I read the email and smiled to myself because I absolutely love Stickle Bricks. Yes, I know I am an adult and I know the idea was for little J to give them a try but I love Stickle Bricks so the answer was a big fat yes. I'm guessing a lot of my readers around a similar age as me must have played with Stickle Bricks when they were younger, I know I did. For those that didn't, oh my goodness you missed out on some serious building, sticking, stacking fun.  

Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Capital FM Summertime Ball 2016

This post has been sitting in my drafts since the Summer and I'm not sure why I didn't publish it. As time went on I didn't feel the time was right to post about something we did months ago. As the tickets for this years Summertime Ball will be going on sale shortly I thought it would be perfect to share on day now for those who are thinking of attending this year.

 Now that big J is growing up buying for his birthday isn't as easy as it was. We asked him what he would like and even he couldn't think of anything. After listening to the radio one morning he heard about the Capital FM Summertime Ball so he asked us for tickets for his birthday.

Monday, 6 March 2017

The Gruffalo Orienteering Trail - Delamere Forest

A few weeks ago I was reading another blog and noticed that The Gruffalo Trail was at Delamere Forest. I was so excited because I knew little J would love hunting through the woods in search for the Gruffalo. It's been one of his favourite books for a few years now and last year he even had a Gruffalo birthday party. So last weekend we headed to Delamere Forest in search for the Gruffalo.

Sunday, 5 March 2017

Carlton Books Champions League Fact File Giveaway

Football plays a huge part in our lives on a daily basis whether it's watching it on TV, playing a game on the consoles or just kicking a foam ball around our living room. When Carlton books sent us the Champions League Fact File book I knew big J would love it. Out of us all he is the one who knows the most about Football and likes to know the ins and outs of the Footballers not just in the UK but all over the world.

Saturday, 4 March 2017

Monthly Review Round Up - March

A few of our review items that we were sent last month. 

Kaspersky Kids Safe App

I have to admit that both boys are regular online users. It's the world we live in now and with so many devices around our hime having instant access to the world wide web it is impossible to stop them. Little J is a big fan of You Tube Kids and it's perfect for little ones as it has videos and adverts that are designed just for children. Big J however is a teenager and is able to access all sorts of information online which sometimes can be quite worrying.  In a recent European study* of 5040 children aged 10-15 conducted by global cyber security company, Kaspersky, discovered some alarming stats about how children are using the internet, and how they may not be protecting themselves as they should. 

Tuesday, 28 February 2017

Doc McStuffins Medical and Doctor's Role Play Set Review

Little J loves Doc McStuffins and he has done since he was a baby. He has all the stuffed animals and he will sit and watch Doc every day on Disney Junior. Now he is older he understands Doc more and what she does. For those that don't know Dottie 'Doc' McStuffins is a six year old girl who fixes' toys with a little help from her stuffed animal friends. A few weeks ago we were sent Doc's Medical set and Doc's Role Play Set to review so you can imagine how happy little J was.


Friday, 24 February 2017

Chad Valley Underwater Rescue Base Review

You may know already that last year we were chosen to be on the Chad Valley Play Panel. It was so exciting for us as we love Chad Valley and obviously we were very honoured to be given such an amazing opportunity. Over the last few months we have received some amazing toys including Chad Valley Wooden Police and Fire Station and Chad Valley Airport. We also gave our readers the chance to win Argos vouchers. I am sad to say that we have just received our final package for review.

Thursday, 23 February 2017

Jamie Raven Live 2017

On Tuesday Daddy and I headed to Southport to see Jamie Raven. For those that don't know who he is, Jamie came runner up in the 2015 Britain's Got Talent final. He narrowly lost out to Jules and Matisse by just 2 per cent of the vote. We remembered his performances and loved watching him so we were quite excited to see his live show. We have been to a few magic and illusion shows and whilst they have been okay we have always left the theatre feeling quite underwhelmed. Hopefully Jamie would amaze us and we would be heading home with confused looks on our faces and wondering "How on earth did he do that?'

Monday, 20 February 2017

Schleich Wild Life Starter Set Review

You may remember that last year we reviewed the Schleich Farm and how much we loved it. We still do and out of all of little J's toys this really has been played with the most and it is still in perfect condition. Quality is everything when it comes to toys, obviously you want them to be enjoyable but they also need to be durable. Last week we received a Schleich Wild Life Starter set which includes 4 animals. Little J is really enjoying playing with his animals at the moment and it wasn't long before they were introduced to his lion playset.

Monday, 30 January 2017

La La Land Review - City of Stars, Are You Shining Just For Me?

La La Land was a film that I had wanted to see for a few months after seeing trailers online, reading about it on Social Media and although I had an idea of what it was about nothing could have prepared me for just how fantastic this movie is. Most of my childhood saw me acting out the dance scene from West Side Story in my front living room or singing Grease songs in front of the bathroom mirror. La La Land took me back to those memories and how good musicals were and how sad it is that they just don't make movies like that anymore, until now. 

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

Tech Tuesday - 4K Definition The Future Of Streaming

You may have recently read my review of the Xbox One S in which I talk about the difference I have seen with 4K and HDR definitions.  One of the features is the ability to stream HDR and 4K definition through the Xbox One S with 4K compatible providers like Netflix. As part of the StreamTeam, I have written recently about Stranger Things - the superb TV series with a retro feel to it. We watched that in 1080p through Netflix and the quality was brilliant. If I had waited a few months until we got the new 4K TV then we could have watched it in 4K definition on Netflix. 

Saturday, 21 January 2017

The Lion Guard Hyena Hideout Playset Review

Little J was so excited to receive the Lion Guard Hyena Hideout Playset to review. As you probably already know we are huge Disney fans and we love watching The Lion Guard Series, which is a spin off from the movies The Lion King. We already own a Lion Guard Defend The Pride Lands Playset so little J is happy to have a 'bad guys' playset too. 

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Tech Tuesday - August Bluetooth Wireless Headphones Review

We already own a number of August products, most recently we reviewed Augusts WS300 and WS150 Multiroom Wireless Airplay speakers.  We use these a lot throughout the home as they are portable and easy to use.  When I was asked to try a set of wireless headphones I was happy to give them a try. We were sent a pair of EP636R wireless stereo headphones 

Thursday, 12 January 2017

Zapf Creation Baby Born Unicorn Review and Giveaway

 As I am in a house full of boys I did wonder whether dolls and prams would ever be something I would get the chance to play with as a Mum. I would never force toys on the boys so unfortunately when big J was younger he just wasn't interested in that side of playing he was more interested in computer type toys. One of the things I love about little J is that he will play with all toys. Cars, dolls, blue or pink it's all the same to him which I think is fabulous. When we received the Baby Born Unicorn he was over the moon, he loved it from the first moment he saw it. 

Tuesday, 10 January 2017

Tech Tuesday - Xbox One S Review

I am a Xbox owner after converting from the PS2 to the original Xbox a long time ago.  I still have PS consoles, but the Xbox has been my favourite for some time. I bought the Xbox One on initial release date in 2013 - the Day One edition. I have had no problems with it at all, other than running out of storage space. Luckily the Xbox allows external hard drives to be connected in a plug and play style to improve the capacity overall. 

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Tech Tuesday - Droidbox PlayOn Review

I recently bought the Droidbox PlayOn handheld console.  For years I have looked for and bought a number of units with the intention of being able to play emulated games from computers and consoles long gone, in a simple format with easy to use controls. 

Droidbox PlayOn, Handheld Console, Buttons, Screen,
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...